The Hutch Award

Jon Lester of the Boston Red Sox was awarded the 2008 Hutch Award. Lester, a cancer survivor, threw a no hitter against the Royals on May 19Th.

The Hutch Award, named after the former Detroit Tiger’s pitcher and manager, is given to the player who displays honor, courage and dedication.
Fred Hutchinson was with the Tiger’s organization for 16 years. In 1953, he managed a young rookie by the name of Al Kaline, a recipient himself of the Hutch award in 1969. Another Tiger to earn the honor was John Hiller in 1973. Former Tiger’s first baseman, Sean Casey, received the award in 1999 while with the Cincinnati Reds.
Fred Hutchinson died of cancer at the age of 45 on November 12, 1964.
This entry was posted in Dailies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s