AL Cy Young Winner


No surprises here in the announcement of Cliff Lee as the 2008 Cy young Award winner. I think he was a shoe – in for this award from the start. As you’ll recall, he had an awful season in 2007. This year, however, was a different story! Lee compiled a 22 – 3 W/L record with a 2.54 ERA. Regular readers will know that I am a huge fan of the WHIP statistic. Lee’s was 1.11. That’s nothing short of amazing! He struck out 170 and allowed only 34 walks this season. The Baseball Writers Association Of America gave him 24 out of 28 first place votes. Runner – up Roy Halladay, of the Blue Jays, had four first place votes. He was followed by Angel’s closer Francisco Rodriguez.




This entry was posted in Dailies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s